Major banana cultivars in Pacific atoll countries

  • Authors : Watson, B.

  • Document type : Journal article

  • Year of publication : 1993

  • Journal title : Infomusa

  • Volume (number) : 2 (2)

  • Pages : 19-20

  • Peer-reviewed : No

  • ISSN : 1023-0068

  • Language(s) : English

  • Abstract : Two of the four Federated States of Micronesia (FSM) and the Marshall Islands, Kiribati, Tuvalu and the Cook Islands were visited in October - November 1990 on the occasion of consultation work on evaluation of introduction of trees for fruit and dried fruit crops in these atolls. The main banana cultivars were identified and classified during the visit. The most common varieties in the region are 'Bluggoe', 'Saba', 'Mysore', 'Blue Java', 'Rokua Mairana', 'Silk' and Cavendish. In the past 20 years, the range of bananas grown in the atolls has undergone variations which appear to have been indirectly affected by invasion by Mycosphaerella fijiensis. Sensitive cultivars have been replaced in the FSM by very resistant ones such as the cooking banana 'Saba' and the dessert banana 'Mysore'. In the Tokelau Islands and the northern part of the Cook Islands, sensitive cooking banana types have been replaced by 'Bluggoe' and 'Rokua Mairana'. Cultivation of 'Mysore' has developed throughout the atolls except for the northern part of the Cook Islands.

    [Deux des quatre Etats Fédéraux de Micronésie (FSM) ainsi que les Iles Marshall, Kiribati, Tuvalu et les Iles Cook, ont été visités en Octobre - Novembre 1990 à l'occasion d'une consultation d'évaluation concernant l'introduction d'arbres fruitiers et d'arbres donnant des fruits secs dans ces atolls. Durant la visite, les principaux cultivars bananiers ont été identifiés et classés. Les variétés les plus répandues dans la région sont les suivantes: Bluggoe, Saba, Mysore, Blue Java, Rokua Mairana, Silk et Cavendish. La gamme des bananiers cultivés dans les atolls a subi, au cours des 20 dernières années, des variations qui semblent avoir été influencées de façon indirecte par l'invasion de Mycosphaerella fijiensis. Dans les îles des FSM, les cultivars sensibles ont été remplacés par des cultivars très résistants tels que la banane à cuire Saba et la banane dessert Mysore. Dans les Iles Tokelau ainsi que dans la partie nord des Iles Cook, les types sensibles de banane à cuire ont été remplacés par les variétés Bluggoe et Rokua Mairana. La variété Mysore s'est développée dans tous les atolls, exceptée la partie nord des Iles Cook.]


  • Open access : Yes

  • PDF : open

  • Musalit document ID : IN940011_eng

Generate Citation